Welcome everyone, I’m The Li-Bury-An, and today we have a spotlight on Meg Hafdahl

Meg Hafdahl reads from her story “Bramblewood” which appears in THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY: Women of Horror Anthology Vol. 3

Meg Hafdahl is a name that is very well known in the horror fiction community. She is also a champion for Women horror authors, having co-authored the book, The Science of Women in Horror (as well as The Science of Monsters and the Science of Stephen King) which were published by Skyhorse Publishing and distributed by Simon & Schuster. Her other books and writings have also been critically-acclaimed. I was so happy when Meg submitted a story to our humble book series. Her piece, “Bramblewood” is about a young woman who is running away from her obnoxious boyfriend, and gets caught up in what I can only describe as “Donna Reed’s worst nightmare.” Although it is a chilling horror story full of shocks, twists, and hold-your-breath-it’s-coming moments, it’s also a reminder that some things may look perfect on the exterior, but when you dig deeper, you’ll find a festering, soul-rotting reality well-hidden behind a shining facade.

“The monster breathed fire behind me. As I rushed down the last stairs in the dark, Pam’s frustrated screams and Gary’s moans entwined in a sickening harmony. She followed in big, thundering steps.” 

From “Bramblewood” by Meg Hafdahl

Today, Meg talks about how she came up with her story “Bramblewood” for THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY : Women of Horror Anthology Volume 3. Out now from Kandisha Press!

“My story “Bramblewood” was formed by my interest in the rural gothic subgenre. I have long been fascinated with the veneer of perfection that small towns, rural life, and, in this case; suburbs, project. Peeling back that edifice has long been an interest of mine, especially in the sphere of females. Aside from all that, I had fun forming the characters for this story. I think everyone can find something to empathize about in both Darcy and Pam. And when it’s time for the horror, that is where I really enjoy myself! I’m a “discovery” writer or “pantser” if you like. So I never know how my stories are going to end. For me, that is what gives me the thrill of writing.”

MEG HAFDAHL – Horror and suspense author Meg Hafdahl is the creator of numerous stories and books. Her fiction has appeared in anthologies such as Eve’s Requiem: Tales of Women, Mystery and Horror and Eclectically Criminal. Her work has been produced for audio by The Wicked Library and The Lift, and she is the author of two popular short story collections including Twisted Reveries: Thirteen Tales of the Macabre. Meg is also the author of a trilogy of novels; The Darkest Hunger, Daughters of Darkness and Her Dark Inheritance called “an intricate tale of betrayal, murder, and small town intrigue” by Horror Addicts and “every bit as page turning as any King novel” by RW Magazine. Meg, also the co-host of the podcast Horror Rewind and co-author of The Science of Monsters, The Science of Women in Horror, The Science of Stephen King published by Skyhorse Publishing and distributed by Simon and Schuster, lives in the snowy bluffs of Minnesota.  

Twitter: @MegHafdahl

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: